The Stretch

I know it’s been a while, but I have a good excuse… I’ve been stretching and the stretch has not been easy. So let me tell you what this looks like and why the stretch has been one for the record books. Last year I  talked to Daddy about my next. I had a conversation about what to do now that I was finished with school and I was in a high leadership position. For a while, I didn’t hear anything. I keep praying and being silent, but nothing. One day an event at work happen and it causes me to really feel like it was time for me to go, I prayed and this time Daddy gave me an answer. He told me a date that I would need to turn in my resignation and where to go afterward. Now it was where he told me to go afterward that had me kind of shook. I remember the conversation like it was yesterday. He said: “It’s time for you to trust me fully, and do what I have equipped you to do. It’s time that you go and do ministry at your church”. After hearing this I spoke with my pastors to see what we need to do, to get me set up for the transition. They were so excited and felt like this was the best time to do so. I, on the other hand, was feeling some kind of way, but I knew what GOD said so I was in an ” I trust GOD mindset”.  So long story short I resigned from my job and working for my church full time as the senior pastor’s assistant and mental health consultant. I have taken a $1400 pay cut, but nothing in my house has lack… NOTHING!!!

I know you are wondering what is the stretch. The stretch is letting GOD be GOD. How can we name Him provider and not give me the opportunity to actually provide? How can we call Him healer and not allow Him to heal us? How can we say we have victory in Him, but never give Him the opportunity to win the wars and battles that life throws at us? This is the stretch… Letting Daddy be all he says he can, will, and has been. Allowing Him to be everything we need when we need it as we continue to be obedient to all his instructions.

Let me say this… THIS HAS NOT BEEN EASY!!! I have tried to get another job, sought out ways to earn extra income, make my own plans, but GOD has blocked and convicted me of it all.  This stretch has really reminded me of  Jeremiah 29:11 where Daddy says: “I know the plans I have for your life, plans to prosper you, not to harm you.”  In this stretch, it doesn’t seem like the plan looks prosperous. It kind of feels like Daddy has brought me in the middle of the ocean and said now, swim. No direction, no guidance, only the action of doing what he said. Let me say this I thought that swimming in the ocean would be hard, but can I tell you I have been floating like a fish.

The stretch has taught 5 things… (If you don’t know I love the number 5, it’s the number of Grace):

1. Learn how to be comfortable being uncomfortable.

2. The weight may seem unbearable, but the wait is worth the process.

3. Remind Daddy of his word and promises. Daddy sees your heart, but HE responses to his word. He said that his word will not return to him void, so speak what he already said and watch him work.

4. Stay focus. When you are being obedient you may feel like you need to explain yourself, but there’s not needed when you trust Daddy… Which brings me to number 5.

5. TRUST DADDY!!! When I tell you that Daddy has met needs before I even ask…He has. It can be as simple as lunch to money. I have never been a place where I’ve never seen His word manifest so quickly. But because I was obedient and I speak His word even in the midst of distractions, I have seen Him come through for me like never before.

Prayer: Father right now we thank you that you have already given us an example of the effects of what relentless faith looks like. We thank you that greatness is in us and though we may never see the whole promise we are grateful for the position to see pieces of the promise. We will pursue you like it is our last time, and seek your face over your hand. In the Name of JESUS… AMEN

Leave a comment

Categories

Follow me on Twitter