I Expect The New Now

DDC Readers,

We are weeks away from 2019 and I am still trying to get into 2018. I know that’s bad, but I still feel like Daddy has something that He needs to do in 2018. With everything going on in the world, I really feel like He is waiting for someone to expect something from Him without waiting for the new year to arrive. I am that someone. In a message that I ministered at my church, I told the people that we get so caught up in waiting for the words “Happy New Year”, that we missed the newness that Daddy is doing in our present. I love how he put it in Isaiah 43:18-19 (I am paraphrasing) He says. “forget all that I have done because I am doing a new thing”… Then He asked the question, “Don’t you see it”? So let me go back, to give you the background of what is going on before we get to verses 18 and 19. So, in verses, 1-17 Daddy is telling the children or Israel what He has done for them, what they have done to Him, and the consequences of their actions. In other words, He is listing the history of their relationship with each other. By verse 18, He tells them to not dwell on the past because, in verse 19,  He is about to show them something new. From verse 19 until the end of the chapter He speaks of the new things that He is going to do and how they should be in a place of expecting, preparing, and experiencing the new now.

That’s where I am when I say I am trying to get into 2018. I want to leave the first part of 2018 behind and enjoy the new that Daddy is doing now. I want to be in a place where I am not stuck on what He did that I miss what He is doing. But, can I be honest that’s where a lot of us are. We love the fact that we have a track record with Daddy, but we forget that He is just like the energizer bunny… “He keeps going and going”.  I know you are wondering… What’s the moral of this blog? Well, good Question… The Moral of this blog is this: Dwelling on what He did will place us in three positions: 1) The looking back position. Looking back causes paralyzation. Genesis 19:26 we see that Lot’s wife turn into a pillar of salt when she looked back. Which resulted in her being paralyzed in that position for life. 2) The Reminder position. This position tells us to remember what GOD has done but never expecting Him to do anything else. That’s why in Isiaih 43:19 He says, “Do you not see it”? which brings me to the last position 3) The blind position. There are times where we can be so blinded by the new that we can’t see the now. When it comes to this position I am reminded of Sarah and Abraham.  How when Sarah got the word that they would be pregnant and it did not happen when she wanted it too, she took matters into her own hands and created something new.  But, she missed the opportunity to trust Daddy and  His timing. Had Sarah not been so blinded by timing then she would have enjoyed the process of the new.

Prayer:  Daddy, thank you that you allow us the opportunity to enjoy the new things that you are doing in our lives. We pray that you will help us to never look back on your past track record with us that we aren’t able to move forward in what you doing through, too, and for us. We pray that you will help us to remember that you do something new daily and we can’t get stuck on yesterday’s new in our now. We pray that you will help us to wait and enjoy the process of the now, that we don’t become blinded by the new things we are expected from you later. In JESUS Name…AMEN!!

P.S.  I flunked #bloglikecrazy2018. Between motivation and schedule, it was not going to work. But guess what? It taught me that I need to pass myself and maybe even start my blogs in October and have them ready in November… I don’t know but it was fun while it lasted. Maybe next year!

Leave a comment

Categories

Follow me on Twitter